Need I walk the memory lane ….

Reunions, no matter how small forces one to remember. Remember occasions, dates, people and details. Triggering those memories are very difficult for some but very easy for many.

Reunions use to be the worst event for me. It still is. I am not going to lie to make people happy. If I cannot remember, I just do not remember. What has always been important to me, where do I go from here. I learn to love the “new” person I reconnect with and move on. Appreciate and respect the individuality of each person and move on.

I believe in living the present and lay the foundation for the future. It is too stressful to dwell in the past. I am not who I am 25 years ago. I wish I can say I am but I am not. I love being with my friends be it from 27 years ago, 20 years ago or 5 years ago. They are part of my life experiences and probably future experiences. I am just not going to fret about that occasion I cannot remember. I will trust their recollection and make it mine too!

As much I am accepting reconnected friends, I pray hard they forgive and accept me as I am. Life’s too short to severe ties and burn bridges. Let’s just make new memories….

“A friend is one who knows you and loves you just the same.” ~ Elbert Hubbard

Leave a Reply

