Mistakes

In his book “The Maxwell Daily Reader”, John C Maxwell wrote about mistakes on page 164.  Admitting mistakes was one of my biggest problem. In the beginning of my career, admitting “I was wrong” is very difficult. This leads to making wrong decisions and hinders improvements. I was busy protecting myself.

In the book, Maxwell stress that the only way one can “leave the road of continual failure” is by uttering “I was wrong”. I have learned throughout the years that by doing so, I am demonstrating and acknowledging my failure, taking responsibility for it and  moving forward by making the right decision. It also has taught me that in return my team will be more willing to take responsibility and admit their mistake faster, learn from it and believe it or not find creative solutions.

Another part I love about this topic is the acronym Maxwell used to keep the mistakes in perspective:

M – messages that gives us feedback about life

I – interruptions that should cause us to reflect and think

S – signposts that direct us to the right path

T – tests that push us toward greater maturity

A – awakenings that keep us in the game mentally

K – keys that we can use to unlock the next door of opportunity

E – explorations that let us journey where we’ve never been before

S – statements about our development and progress.

(Quoted from Failing Forward)

I still utter words like “It was my mistake” or “I was wrong” though lesser several times compare to when I had my first realization. I am pretty sure along the way, I have influenced some to do the same – admitting mistake!

Leave a Reply

