A Different Woman by Nura Ahmad

We think we know her
We identify her mom and dad
We could name all her brothers
Some of us even think we know where her ancestors are from

We claim we met her at some point of our lives
We have seen her at conventions, seminars and talks
We may have seen her at the mall the other day
Some secretly love the way she dress

We respect her for changing our views on AIDS
We support her cause on breast cancer
We admire her never-ending fight for gender equality
Some of us dream to work with her one day

We despise her for not being like her father
We forever hope & pray she runs for office
We condemn her for her religious views
Some of us even curse her to hell

We need to just stop to observe
And realize….

She is a woman … just like you and me
She is a daughter … just like you and me
She is a mom … just like you and me
She is a wife … just like you and me
She is a good friend … just like you and me
She has principles … just like we have ours
She has fears … just like you and me
She has wishes & dreams … just like you and me

She’s different in so many ways
Yet she’s just like us in so many more ways

Nura Ahmad 29th November 2011-11-29

Note: This poem is to remind me of the best 3-hour conversation with an incredible woman over roti canai and coffee at the well known Line Clear Nasi Kandar stall – 24th November 2011.
I will cherish the time I spent with her (if I never get to see her again). I want to be courageous every day of my life in whatever I do just like her. Our battlefields different, our victory differs. I strongly believe our ability to be brave for our family, society and future generation is very similar.
Thank you, Marina.

Leave a Reply

