Reflect Often. Change.

“How noble and good everyone could be if, every evening before falling asleep, they were to recall to their minds the events of the whole day and consider exactly what has been good and bad. Then without realizing it, you try to improve yourself at the start of each new day.”

— Anne Frank

I always us the term reflect….reflect often and then change. Most of us do not reflect often enough. Yours truly included. I have learned that when I reflect daily or weekly or even per incident, my mind starts breaking down the incident:

  • what transpired,
  • what were said,
  • how would I feel if it were said to me or done to me,
  • what could have i done differently,
  • could I have prevented it from spiraling out of control,
  • did I over reacted or
  • what could I have done to understand the situation better before giving a reaction
  • and the list goes on

All this is in my hands. The choice is mine. I could just leave it the way it is and move on but I should reflect even positive incidents …. at how well I did and if I could even do it better. The important things is if I were to “reflect” and do not change, it is really not reflecting at all. Maturity is where one can look in the mirror. Accept their weaknesses. Acknowledge and change.

Self Improvement never stop…holistic intelligence cannot be achieved if one does not “reflect” often and change. Keep asking ourselves: Who is that person in the mirror?

Leave a Reply

