Poetry : Even When I Know by Nura Ahmad

I always tell myself that everything will be fine
Even when I know everything is not
I always tell myself that you’ll always be here
Even when I know you will not

I tell myself that you are just tired
Even when I know you are angry
I tell myself it is my fault
Even when I know it is not

I tell myself things will be different
Even when I know it won’t be
I tell myself you will change
Even when I know you will not

I tell myself it is time to go
Even when my heart says not to go
I tell myself the time is right
And yet I am still here, enduring the fight.

By Nura Ahmad, 15th July 2012.
Dedicated to the women who could not leave the abusive men in their lives….the physical and verbal abuse will never stop…

2 thoughts on “Poetry : Even When I Know by Nura Ahmad

  1. Nura – I love your writings – I wish I have the talent to put my feelings & thoughts into words.

Leave a Reply

