Be the Change!

In an interview, Susan Klebold was asked what she would say to her son if she could speak to him now. Her son Dylan Klebold is the shooter in the Columbine High School tragedy. He killed 12 students and a teacher. Here’s her answer:

 “I would ask him to forgive me, for being his mother and never knowing what was going on inside his head, for not being able to help him, for not being the person he could confide in.”

~ Susan Klebold

It makes me think of how daily we judge people so easily. That Dylan was who he was because of his parents. Everyday I strive not to be judgmental but every other day, if I am not thinking about it, I still do it. Change is necessary, but never easy. I know for a fact my religion do not teach me to be judgmental. We are the product of a society who practices just that. Being different is just a minus point – fat, colored, thin, religion, sexual orientation, race, sex, mentally disabled, physically disabled, have diseases, allergies, poor, rich, bad mothers etc.

We have to strive harder to change and start in our own home. It will never be easy. It is not impossible and it is never to late.

Leave a Reply

