Happy Teacher’s Day

Teacher’s Day is celebrated on the 16th of May yearly in Malaysia. 

In my opinion, being a teacher in Malaysia today is a challenge. We have an education system that is “fickle” and placed unnecessary burdens on teachers and students. We have a society which majority transfers their the responsibility to educate and nurture their children entirely to the teachers. And I have absolutely no idea why. 

I would prefer to write about the incredible teachers I know. This year I want to talk about a lady whose name is Wan Sahibul. She is a teacher and my friend. We went to Taylors College and has reconnected in the last few years. We live in different cities and the last time I met her was circa 1984. We have stayed connected through Whatsapp. My friends and I called her the “Superwoman”. She teaches the normal subjects in school and so much more. She sings, dances, plays the angklong, teach swimming, field sport, bowling and other things which I cannot remember. I do not know where she gets the energy. I have no doubt that she inspires her students. 

So this Teacher’s Day, I would specifically want to celebrate her. I wish you the best Wan Sahibul…May you continue to inspire your students. May you be blessed with good health, wealth and happiness. May Allah grant you Jannah for doing what you do. 

“The mediocre teacher tells.The good teacher explains.The superior teacher demonstrates.The great teacher inspires.” 

― William Arthur Ward

20140516-030518.jpg

20140516-030532.jpg
Picture credit Wan Sahibul FB

Leave a Reply

