I Am Not Guilty

Last week there was a terror attack in France and twitter goes frenzy for days. The below tweets caught my attention.

Rupert Murdoch tweeted
“Maybe most Moslems peaceful, but until they recognize and destroy their growing jihadist cancer they must be held responsible.”

JK Rowling replied
“I was born Christian. If that makes Rupert Murdoch my responsibility, I’ll auto-excommunicate.”
And she continues in reply to another tweet
“@dom209 The Spanish Inquisition was my fault, as is all Christian fundamentalist violence. Oh, and Jim Bakker.”

I am a Muslim. I AM NOT responsible and WILL NOT be responsible for the actions of any terrorists. I will NOT apologize for their actions. They do not represent my religion or me. Islam does not teach terrorism. I will never recognize them as part of my religion.

You may or may not agree with the total freedom of speech by Charlie Hebdo. It is your choice. Even if I disagree, I would not go out to kill them. That is not what my religion taught me. I give a lot of respect for others and it would be nice to be respected for what I believe in. There are so many things in life which we find as offensive. And we want people to know that it is offensive. Even Facebook has a button to click and identify offensive updates. So no, I am not Charlie but I do not condone the killing. Charlie Hebdo will continue to do what it does, but I should not be told to like it or agree to it or support it. It is my freedom to choose. Just because I am Muslim I should not be made to accept that it is normal to mock everything especially my religion.

Brilliant tweet by Sally Kohn:

2015/01/img_1122.jpg

Yesterday I tweeted that it seems it is ok to offend 2 billion people. Many was offended and immediately assume I agree with the killing and one person call me a c*nt. I thought it was interesting.

I wrote before that it is getting harder to be a Muslim. We are constantly trying to prove ourselves as human being worthy to share this planet with everyone. I refuse to apologize or explain myself for any terrorist attack. I am not guilty.

Leave a Reply

