The Stonehenge Experience

During my trip to England, one of the places we did not plan to stop was Stonehenge. As we head home from Bath, we thought we will just pass by it to take some photographs. Stonehenge closes at 4pm hence we could not enter.

It turns out to be a blessing as I had the most wonderful experience of witnessing the most beautiful sunset. I stand by the fence and shoot photos through the holes of the fence netting. Stonehenge looks even more majestic in that setting, with a background of multicolored sunset sky. There were some campers on the other side of the plains making it more picturesque.

Although I was unable to see the Stonehenge up-close, the view from the fence was breathtakingly beautiful. I would not have been able to see it if we came earlier during the day. It is such a mysterious place with so many questions remains unanswered. As the sun sets, it became interestingly eerie. If I had another chance, I would return just before closing time, to witness the majestic stones and the beautiful sunset again. If.

And the drive from Bath to Amesbury was an experience itself. That would be for another blog update.

Here are some of the pictures I took at Stonehenge. Enjoy!!
(for details on Stonehenge, just go to Wikipedia)

When we arrive, everyone has left the Stonehenge compound, hence the place looks abandoned. It is actually very nice to take a photo without anyone walking or blocking the important object.
3171190488427

As it gets darker, the sky started to change in colour.
3171190728433

The sunset is slightly to the right of Stonehenge so I took some photos of the sun setting. There are some campers on the plains – that is the square silhouette on the right of the photo.
3171191088442

Just breathtakingly beautiful.
3171191528453
3171191928463

A closeup picture of one of the Stonehenge rock with 2 birds resting on it. I took so many pictures, only a few turns out well. So this was quite a challenge for me as I was quite new in photography.
3171192608480

Do visit my my flickr with more pictures of my visit to Stonehenge.

Leave a comment